Chandra Bhushan Kumar has been appointed as Deputy Election Commissioner as part of a major bureaucratic reshuffle affected by the government. A total of 13 officers have been appointed as joint secretaries in different central government departments. Bhushan, a 1995 batch IAS officer of union territories cadre, has been appointed to the post for five years, an order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training.

The election commission is the multi-member body and currently has three members including Chief Election Commissioner. They all are appointed by the President.