The government today officially declared the sporting personalities names to receive this year’s National Sports Awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29.

It will also be for the first time when a para-athlete will be receiving the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award as the Sports Ministry today announced the name of Devendra Jhajharia beside former India hockey captain Sardar Singh.

Apart from them, 17 other sports personalities will receive the prestigious Arjuna Award, seven coaches will receive the Dronacharya Award while three others will be awarded the Dhyan Chand Award.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sport Journalists/ Experts/ Commentators and sports administrators.