The Supreme Court on Thursday ordered states and union territories to frame Road Safety Policy, create State Road Safety Council with a Lead Agency, District Road Safety Committee and Permanent Road Safety Cell by January 31, 2018.

A bench of Justice Madan B Lokur and Justice Deepak Gupta directed creation of Road Safety Fund and putting in place Road Safety Action Plan in four months.

While directing states and UTs to urgently prepare a Road Safety Action Plan by March 31, 2018 and put it into action after giving it due publicity, it issued a series of related directions, many of which are covered under the Motor Vehicles Act. The bench ordered that at least one Trauma Care Centre should be set up in every district with necessary facilities and an ambulance. It directed the state governments to seriously consider including Road Safety Education and Counselling the school curriculum at the earliest.